FHA (Federal Housing Administration)

FHA Loan Highlights

  • 3.50% Down Payment
  • 580 or Higher Credit Score
  • Fixed or Adjustable-Rate Mortgage (ARM)
  • Loan Terms from 10 to 30 Years
  • Down Payment Can be Gifted
  • 0.55% Monthly Mortgage Insurance
  •      Remains for Life of Loan (if Down Payment is < 10%)
  • 1.75% Upfront Mortgage Insurance Premium
  •      Financed into Loan Amount
  • $472,030 Maximum Loan Amount (Jefferson County)
  • Great Option for Borrower(s) with a 679 or Lower Credit Score

FHA loans are government-insured mortgages that are backed by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA). They are designed to help people who may not be able to qualify for conventional home loans due to lower credit scores, limited income, or a smaller down payment. FHA loans have less stringent requirements than traditional loans and offer more relaxed qualification criteria.

FHA loans can be used to purchase homes with a down payment as low as 3.5% of the purchase price. FHA loans also allow for lower credit scores than traditional loans, and in some cases, borrowers with credit scores as low as 500 may be eligible for financing. Additionally, FHA loans typically have lower interest rates than conventional loans.

However, there are some downsides to FHA loans. FHA loans require borrowers to pay mortgage insurance premiums (MIP), which can increase the overall cost of the loan. The MIP can be paid upfront or rolled into the loan amount. FHA loans also have limits on the loan amount that can be borrowed, and in some areas, the limits may be lower than the prices of homes in the area.

Overall, FHA loans are a good choice for people with lower credit scores, limited income, or a smaller down payment. They offer more flexibility than traditional loans and can help people achieve their dream of homeownership.